agra,ahmedabad,ajmer,akola,aligarh,ambala,amravati,amritsar,aurangabad,ayodhya,bangalore,bareilly,bathinda,bhagalpur,bhilai,bhiwani,bhopal,bhubaneswar,bikaner,bilaspur,bokaro,chandigarh,chennai,coimbatore,cuttack,dehradun,delhi ncr,dhanbad,dibrugarh,durgapur,faridabad,ferozpur,gandhinagar,gaya,ghaziabad,goa,gorakhpur,greater noida,gurugram,guwahati,gwalior,haldwani,haridwar,hisar,hyderabad,indore,jabalpur,jaipur,jalandhar,jammu,jamshedpur,jhansi,jodhpur,jorhat,kaithal,kanpur,karimnagar,karnal,kashipur,khammam,kharagpur,kochi,kolhapur,kolkata,kota,kottayam,kozhikode,kurnool,kurukshetra,latur,lucknow,ludhiana,madurai,mangaluru,mathura,meerut,moradabad,mumbai,muzaffarpur,mysore,nagpur,nanded,narnaul,nashik,nellore,noida,palwal,panchkula,panipat,pathankot,patiala,patna,prayagraj,puducherry,pune,raipur,rajahmundry,ranchi,rewa,rewari,rohtak,rudrapur,saharanpur,salem,secunderabad,silchar,siliguri,sirsa,solapur,sri-ganganagar,srinagar,surat,thrissur,tinsukia,tiruchirapalli,tirupati,trivandrum,udaipur,udhampur,ujjain,vadodara,vapi,varanasi,vellore,vijayawada,visakhapatnam,warangal,yamuna-nagar

RD Sharma Solutions for Class 6 Maths Chapter 17: Symmetry

Chapter 17- Symmetry completely focuses on the symmetric object and their number of lines of symmetry. The images or things that can be divided into two identical halves are known as symmetrical. On the contrary, asymmetrical objects are those which cannot be divided into two halves. It is easier to identify symmetrical objects in our daily lives. The other half should be exactly similar to the first half. The Line of symmetry is also an important concept to be followed in Chapter 17- Symmetry. A line that separates a figure, shape or solid into two halves is called the line of symmetry. It can also be defined as the imaginary line or axis along which an image is folded to obtain an asymmetrical shape. The shape can have more than one line of symmetry based on the shape. For example, the diagonal of a square divides it into two halves. The diagonal is known as the line of symmetry for the respective square.

Lines of symmetry always coincide with each other. There are different types of symmetry, namely translational symmetry, rotational symmetry, reflexive symmetry, and glide symmetry. The rules of symmetry should be followed when moved, rotated or flipped. When an object is translated and moved from one position to another, translation symmetry takes place. Rotational symmetry exists when an object is turned and is identical to its origin. Most of the shapes follow rotation symmetry in geometry.

A brief mention of both translation and reflection, also known as glide reflection, is mentioned in the latter part of the chapter. Finally, a small description of shapes is provided, stating that 'shapes can be regular or irregular. Furthermore, depending on nature, the shapes can have symmetry in different ways.

Download PDF For FREE

Key features of Aakash RD Sharma Solutions for Class 6 Maths Chapter 17 Symmetry

  • Concepts and practice questions are explained in a detailed manner by the subject experts at Aakash Institute.
  • Students can better use RD Sharma Solutions provided by Aakash Institute to perform well in the exam.
  • Students can understand and complete the chapter in minimal time as the solutions provided by the Aakash institute are prepared in an easy language.
Talk to our expert
Resend OTP Timer =
By submitting up, I agree to receive all the Whatsapp communication on my registered number and Aakash terms and conditions and privacy policy