Discuss the Different Sense Organs

BY Team Aakash Byju's

 Sense organs  An organ of the body that receives a stimulus and conveys information to the sensory nerves.

The human body contains five sense organs. They are the Eye, Ear, Nose, Tongue, and Skin.

Human eye is responsible for the sense of vision. The eye has mainly three layers. They include the Sclera, Choroid layer and Retina.


The sclera gives protection, and the choroid layer supplies Oxygen and nourishment to the Retina.

Ear has mainly three parts. They include the Outer Ear, Middle Ear and Inner Ear.


The Tympanum passes sound waves into the middle ear. The chain of three bones, Malleus and Incus, Stapes of the Middle Ear pass sound waves to the Inner Ear.

It is responsible for the sense of taste. The tongue has a muscular structure. It has different types of taste buds.


Taste receptors are present in taste buds. Taste receptors are responsible for the sense of taste.

The external nose has two Nostrils. These lead to the Nasal Cavity. The Nasal Cavity is lined with a mucous membrane.


Olfactory receptors present in the mucous membrane are responsible for the sense of olfaction.

Skin contains mainly two layers, called Epidermis and Dermis. The stratum corneum, granular layer and Malpighian are the three layers of the Epidermis.


The epidermis has dead cells, sweat pores and hairs. The dermis has Sweat Glands, Oil Glands and Blood Vessels.

The skin contains cutaneous receptors for touch. Skin also contains separate receptors such as Tactile Receptors for Touch, Pacinian corpuscles for Pressure and Nociceptors for Temperature.